Creativity and inspiration in motion.

Tribute to my mom

Image

I know that this post really has nothing to do with design, but I have to get it off my chest.

Mother’s Day is possibly one of the most difficult days of the year.  Well, really…more bittersweet.  Since I’m a mother of two boys, I love their sweet little gifts that they give me along with the hugs, kisses, and tons of “I love you, Mommy’s”.  However, I miss my mother, Naomi B. Mitchell, something terrible.

Sixteen years ago on March 26, 1996, I lost my mom due to respiratory arrest from multiple sclerosis after being comatose for two weeks.  She went from being a hard-working administrative sergeant for a sheriff’s office, who hardly ever missed a day of work, to a Hospice patient who couldn’t talk, eat, bathe, or dress herself within 18 months.  To say that her illness and death devastated my family is an understatement.

Let me try to sum up my mom.  She was the oldest of four girls from Pittsburgh.  She never cared for getting her picture taken.  She had a boyfriend in college who let her drive his motorcycle only to fall off of it.  My mom had the biggest crushes on Billy Dee Williams and Calvin Lockhart.  Richard Pryor cracked her up.  Mom was deathly afraid of snakes.  The movie, Imitation of Life, was one of her all time favorite movies.  She enjoyed fishing during her spare time and watching movies with us (I’m the middle child of three kids.).  It broke my heart when she told me she was picked on as a child for her rich mocha brown complexion.  Hooks, from the Police Academy movies, reminds me of her, especially when she gets pissed off.  Her macaroni and cheese was the absolute best and I almost have her recipe down to the last ingredient.  She had the desire to go back to college to major in Psychology.

Most of all, I know that she loved me.  I never got my chance to tell her how much she meant to me before she died.  The day that she left us, I still remember it like yesterday.

My Mother’s Day wish is for the ones who still have their mother is to make everyday with them like Mother’s Day.  Take the time to say, “I love you”.  Send her flowers from time to time.  Give her a hug and kiss just because.  Cherish every moment with the first lady in your life.

In honor of Mother’s Day, I had to post this video by Boyz II Men, Mama.  I cried when I first heard this…still do.

Happy Mother’s Day to all of the mothers out there.

Leave a Reply

