Creativity and inspiration in motion.

Another musing post…

Awhile ago, I created an original abstract artwork of a person who I thought was a really cool idea to surprise them with.  I was so proud of the work I’d done after I completed it.   The piece took a couple of days to do.  I put a lot of detail into it.  I then sent the person a message with the artwork attached.  Well, *sigh* they laughed at it.  It wasn’t the kind of laugh that they were flattered by the piece.  It was the “this right here is wack” kind of laugh.  They never thanked me for it.  I’m not going to lie, it actually hurt me a bit because I spent a lot of time on it.  It wasn’t something that was slapped together in hopes of it all coming over perfectly.  Since then, I shut myself off completely of doing anyone abstract caricatures of folks.

I recently had someone ask me if I could create original artwork portraying their likeness after they had seen my work.  I was extremely happy because 1.) I never had ANYONE ask me to do something original, and 2.) they told me that they LOVED my work.  I was truly humbled by the inquiry.  I’m so excited to start it soon!

My questions for y’all are:

Have you had an artist who made you into a work of art?  If so, were you flattered by the gesture or did you find it simply strange?

4 responses

  1. I think the fact alone that created something is phenomenal in itself. Be proud of your art. I’m sure it’s incredible.

    January 13, 2013 at 11:25 pm

    • Thanks, Shareen. I love the piece a great deal. I wish the other party did as well.

      January 13, 2013 at 11:33 pm

  2. Do I dare say that person can screw themselves royally?

    Anywho, your art is great and it can only get better.

    January 14, 2013 at 2:15 am

    • LOL! Thank you, sis! 🙂

      January 14, 2013 at 9:04 pm

Leave a Reply

